David Dore

Dore_David Nickname  _FigureSkating-300x350
Birthdate 1940
Birthplace Toronto
Year Inducted 2003
Category Builder
Sport Figure Skating


David Dore was born in Toronto, migrating to St. Catharines where he lived until he was 18, when he then moving to go to school at the University of Windsor. At age 12 Dore suffered a severe case of polio resulting in paralysis on his right side. Suggested by doctors that he take up figure skating as therapy to help him walk again, Dore ended up finding a passion for figure skating. Competing at the junior national figure skating championships, and then becoming the Canadian Fours Champion in 1964, Dore had a successful skating career. After finishing competing Dore went on to serve as an International Skating Union Championship judge from 1972 to 1984. In 1980, Dore became the youngest-ever president of Skate Canada, and is the only president to serve
two full successive terms. In addition Dore was the Skate Canada Executive Director from 1985 to 2002, helping to approve and set up The Skating Events Trust, and founding the national team and Athlete Trust Fund. Also coauthoring the competitive training program, and serving as an administrator of two world skating championships, and as CEO of another Dore continued to contribute to the sport of figure skating long after he retired as a competitor. Chairman of the ISU Development Commission from 1998 to 2002, and a member of ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating Commission 1997 to 2002, Dore also was elected as ISU’s second vice-president in June 2002. One of the highlights for Dore was when he was awarded the Olympic Order in 2000, which is the highest honour awarded by the International Olympic Committee.


  • International Skating Union Championship Judge 1972-1984
  • President of Skate Canada 1980
  • Skate Canada Executive 1985-2002
  • Chairman ISU Development Commission 1998-2002
  • Member ISU
  • Grand Prix of Figure Skating Commission 1997-2002
  • Vice-President ISU Development Commission 2002


  • Canadian Fours Champion 1964
  • Olympic Order 2000
  • St. Catharines Sports Hall of Fame 2003